1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey please check out our new forum Suggestions and Ideas found in the area "The Bay" - as we love all your ideas and want to collect them in one place, - please use it going forward. :) Thanks already for helping to make Battle Bay an even better experience. Remember: If your idea already exists - simply add your comment or like to an existing one so we avoid duplicates.
    Dismiss Notice

Better defence mechanics

Discussion in 'Suggestions & Ideas' started by aDaes, 21 May 2018.

1. aDaes

aDaes New Member

Hey everyone

One of the mechanics I've given the most thought to since I started playing is ship defence: I feel it has amazing potential but is currently near-useless the way it is.
    My suggestion to make it more useful would be to make it so that instead of reducing a flat amount of damage (i.e, if you have 25 defense and take a 125 dmg attack, you just take 100 dmg), make it so that the higher your defense, the higher percentage of damage reduction you get (if you have 25% reduction, a 1000dmg hit would do 750, but a 100dmg hit would do 75).

To make it balanced, I've thought that the max percentage should depend on ship (Defender would be able to reduce a max amount of damage of 50%, for example, while speeder would have a max possible reduction of 20%), and that getting to the max possible dmg reduction wouldn't be as easy as placing two or three defence perks, but would actually take a while to set up and would have a setback like needing various perk slots.

I think that this would make a huge difference for a stat that I feel is very underpowered, and could actually change the game feels a lot

Thanks for taking your time to read, and sorry if I missed any of the steps to make one of these threads; I usually try to read the rules first but I don't always manage to stay in line.

2. Miathan

Miathan Well-Known Member